Lewiston Consolidated Schools School Board Meeting Minutes January 13, 2022

A regular meeting of the District 69 Board of Education, Pawnee County, was held on Thursday, January 13<sup>th</sup>, at 7:00 p.m., the meeting being open to the public and proceeded in notice as required by law. Notice of this meeting was given to the President and all members of the Board and a copy of the acknowledgement of notice and the agenda is noted in the minutes. Availability of the agenda was communicated to the public in advanced notice and to the President of the Board and all Board members.

The meeting was called to order, the Open Meetings Law poster recognized, and verbal notice that the meeting was recorded was given by the President and on a roll call vote, the following members were present: Bredemeier, Howell, Rule, Searcey, and Wehrbein. Excused Absence: Schuster. Also present: Rick Kentfield, Juli Smith, Linda Thomas, Brady Bledsaw, and three visitors.

The agenda was reviewed. Moved by Howell and seconded by Bredemeier "to approve the agenda as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Howell, Rule, Searcey, Wehrbein, and Bredemeier. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Visitors were welcomed. Darrell Johnson commented on the district's vocational programming. Eric Bledsaw mentioned that the board meeting agenda was not on the district's webpage prior to the meeting.

Moved by Howell and seconded by Wehrbein to nominate Aaron Rule as President. Moved by Howell and seconded by Wehrbein to cease nominations. Ballots were cast and Aaron Rule was elected President by a vote of 5-0.

Moved by Bredemeier and seconded by Wehrbein to nominate Linda Searcey as Vice President. Moved by Howell and seconded by Wehrbein to cease nominations. Ballots were cast and Linda Searcey was elected Vice President by a vote of 5-0.

Moved by Rule and seconded by Searcey to nominate Rae Bredemeier as Treasurer. Moved by Searcey and seconded by Howell to cease nominations. Ballots were cast and Rae Bredemeier was elected Treasurer by a vote of 5-0.

President, Aaron Rule appointed Rick Kentfield to serve as board Secretary

Moved by Howell and seconded by Wehrbein "to approve the minutes of the December 16, 2021, regular school board meeting as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Searcey, Wehrbein, Bredemeier, and Howell. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

The treasurer's report was presented by Rae Bredemeier, and Rick Kentfield presented the monthly claims, payroll, and transfers. Moved by Wehrbein and seconded by Bredemeier "to approve the January treasurer's report, December payroll and claims as presented in the amount of \$301,384.29." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Wehrbein, Bredemeier, Howell, and Rule. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Howell and seconded by Searcey "to accept the resignation of Pam Buresh as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Bredemeier, Howell, Rule, and Wehrbein. Those opposed: Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Wehrbein and seconded by Bredemeier "to approve changes for the 2022-2023 negotiated agreement between the Board of Education and the Lewiston Education Association as presented". Those voting in favor of said motion: Wehrbein, Bredemeier, Howell, Rule, and Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Howell and seconded by Searcey "for consideration and adoption of a resolution authorizing the district to enter into one or more lease purchase financings with the Lewiston Educational Facilities Leasing Corporation in an aggregate principal amount not to exceed \$2,250,000, for the purpose of leasing certain educational facilities and equipment from the Corporation". Those voting in favor of said motion: Bredemeier, Howell, Rule, Searcey, and Wehrbein. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Bredemeier "to approve the 2021-2022 superintendent's evaluation as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Howell, Rule, Searcey, Wehrbein, and Bredemeier. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Wehrbein "to approve the superintendent's 2022-2023 salary as presented and posted on the district's website." Those voting in favor of said motion: Rule, Searcey, Wehrbein, Bredemeier, and Howell. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Howell and seconded by Searcey "to approve the proposed 2021-2022 master calendar revisions as presented." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Wehrbein, Bredemeier, Howell, and Rule. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Moved by Wehrbein and seconded by Bredemeier "to approve the property purchase agreement as presented with noted typo on 1.6 Taxes, and appointing Aaron Rule as the school district's representative at closing." Those voting in favor of said motion: Wehrbein, Bredemeier, Howell, Rule, and Searcey. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Juli Smith, Principal, reported on NDE's test score website. Brady Bledsaw, student member of the board, provided information on student activities.

Rick Kentfield, Superintendent, gave an update on COVID, Pawnee County Hospital donation, election certification process, NASB workshop dates, and general fund reserves history.

Board Committee report – No report at this time.

Moved by Searcey and seconded by Wehrbein "to adjourn at 9:09 p.m." Those voting in favor of said motion: Searcey, Wehrbein, Bredemeier, Howell, and Rule. Those opposed: none. Motion carried, 5-0.

Next regular school board meeting will be Tuesday, February 15th, at 7:00 p.m.

Rick Kentfield Board Secretary, Dist. #69